Members of the G8

The G8 is made up of heads of government from Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States.  The European Union is also represented at meetings by both the president of the European Commission and the leader of the country that has European Union presidency. 

The group’s original 1976 line-up included France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States.  These countries were later joined by Canada in 1976 and Russia in 1998. 

All G8 members originate from the developed, industrialised world.  The G8 excludes China and India, despite their rapid economic growth, and fails to represent countries in Africa and Latin America.  This has led to accusations that the G8’s priorities fail to represent the majority of the developing world. 

Comments on this article

Kevin Sakula 23 March, 2013

Am of the view that china,south Africa and Brazil should be considered to join the G8 countries for continental balance

Iddrisu Awal 10 April, 2013

Think the G8 should be replaced by the G20.

mohale mosiuoa 11 April, 2013

I this Africa should be represented too

Osas 11 April, 2013

I dont think china will become part of G8, since most members of G8 see China as a threat to their economy. Anyway, Africa and latin America are just there to meet their energy and mineral resources needs.

Jonah 3 May, 2013

In this part of the world, "sentiment" rules. Any one who really knows what G8 stands for will know that no Africa country qualifies to be admitted. African leaders should, first and foremost, show commitment that they wish their respective countries well. For instance vision 20:2020 in Nigeria is a mere political slogan.It is unachievable with the present corrupt dispensation. Charity begins at home;thus, African leaders should put their houses in order and utilize their potentials with zero tolerance to corruption. African countries have all it takes to be great if they can deal with the enemies within.

Thaneshwar 25 May, 2013

WE have BRIC (BRAZIL RUSSIA INDIA and CHINA) These countries are future of world's Economy so we must not be worried about being included in G8 or not as we are already part of G20.

Barnabas.Nyangi 28 May, 2013

what about the republic of china?

marko ulster 14 June, 2013

Not sure if India or China or fast growing Brazil have ever applied for membership ? Besides where do you stop ? Australia feeds china raw materials should they therefore be accepted or invited ? Surely there exist economic agreements that UK for eg are excluded from .

Abinet Hailu 15 June, 2013

i dont think both China n India fulfuil z criteria set by developed nations to be embraced in G8 's due to factors to all known ,eg Human right question and uneven distribution of wealth respectively! When it comes to Africa, may be S.A or Egypt, Nigeria still with strong limitations!

dave mann 16 June, 2013

G8 is made of Christian base mostly white skin. yes they are industrialized .they are going to make sure that no other country is allowed to enter the monopoly they hold on the world of exporting weapons of human killing.
china india are not accepted for they will be destroyed after Iran's industrial base ,science educated force is exterminated eventually dubai and bahrain and saudi arabia will also be destroyed. G8 will redraw the maps of the new world are created many new countries will be created based on faith.Then weapon dice will roll and wars will begin.

Add your comment

This helps to discourage spam