Members of the G8

The G8 is made up of heads of government from Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States.  The European Union is also represented at meetings by both the president of the European Commission and the leader of the country that has European Union presidency. 

The group’s original 1976 line-up included France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States.  These countries were later joined by Canada in 1976 and Russia in 1998. 

All G8 members originate from the developed, industrialised world.  The G8 excludes China and India, despite their rapid economic growth, and fails to represent countries in Africa and Latin America.  This has led to accusations that the G8’s priorities fail to represent the majority of the developing world. 

Comments on this article

Genji Sallu 4 March, 2014

nepal should also be in G-8

Bishop 6 March, 2014

I think accepting more members may deplete the purpose of group, which would eventually lead to the creation of another G20. I suggest that any member that falls short of the standard should be suspended and replaced with another qualified country. By this any member would sit tight and be serious.

srikanth 25 March, 2014

why there is no place for india

Franco 23 July, 2015

By what criteria are the G8 countries represented?

Add your comment

This helps to discourage spam